For the love of…

Speed.

I went through a natural progression from being a beginner road runner to a not-so-beginner road runner. I started with a 10km, did another 10km, thought it was too hard, so went to a 5km and worked my way up. I was never a fast runner, and the thing I loved about running was that it was an accomplishment that was measurable and was completely my own. How well I did or how poorly I did was 100% completely dependent on me. Some may like that and some may not. Sure, we can argue on the advantage your fellow runners in a race give you, as well as the lift you get from cheering spectators, but at the end of the day, I’m the only one powering my legs to push forward.

legs

My motivation for many, many years was speed. I wanted to get better, run faster, be stronger. I’m not out to win races, as I’m a realist and that will never be me. I’m completely ok with that. But I knew I could do better than I was – it just took time, effort, and determination.

Then came injury. Recover, rebuild, and try again. And then another injury. This time recovery wasn’t so easy so I was introduced to the world of trail running, but not JUST trail running – it was ultramarathon trail running. All of a sudden, I was running longer and farther, and staying injury-free. And the pressure was off. There was no pressure of speed, pace, metrics, or race results. It was all about setting a goal, and crushing it. Get to the finish and high five.

Over a year ago, I was feeling torn between these two different spectrums of the running scale. As friends who run road continue to get faster, I feel my inner roadie pulling me towards them. Taunting me. I’ve spent the last couple of years just getting miles under my belt, and I’ve become very comfortable in one speed. And even that one speed can become difficult the longer you run, so it’s not come without its own set of challenges. But I want that speed back – at least for now I do. There has to be a happy balance I can find between high miles and speed. They say there is, whoever they are, but they are always the experts, right?

IMG_6889I lead the lululemon Robson Run Club, and last week, in light of the recent tragedy in Boston, I went back to my old roots to when I was training for Boston and led the group in a track workout. Although I didn’t actually participate (a sacrifice I’m happy to make when leading), it stirred up some old feelings in me. Track was always tough, but it was always good. Even when it was bad, it was good, because I knew it was helping. Plus, track, and the people with whom I trained, propelled me into the vast world of road racing and where I saw the most gains, physically and mentally. It was all good, so now it’s time to reintroduce that good back to my world.

So, here’s the plan. The track. It’s not that exciting or elaborate, but I’m going to try it out and see how my body reacts, as I’ve got a nagging hamstring. Once a week for the next couple of months. Wish me luck and let’s hope my legs remember how to turn over quickly!

4 thoughts on “For the love of…

  1. All the best Linda. I know what you mean, I lost my speed (for me, anyway) recovering from the Bagel Chase, but I’ve recently started hitting the track. Not only does it feel good after the workout, but getting that old speed back. I’m sure you will too!

Leave a Reply

