And a Patridge in a Pear Tree

IMG_6594

I love setting goals and it seems I’m a bit late in getting this post out. Really, goals can be set anytime, but the romance of declaring goals and resolutions at the start of a year is irresistible to many. The sentiment of my declaration being late, admittedly, was only directly related to the fact that I had chosen my blog title 2 weeks ago. 🙂

Ultramarathons entered my life in 2011 after road running injuries put me on the sidelines for nearly 3 years and it gave me affirmation on something that I felt was true down to my core – I am a runner. Ten years ago, I would have had neither the confidence nor the conviction to make that statement. Today, and every day going forward, it’s a part of my life and who I am. Road or trail? That still remains to be seen but I think somewhere in the middle.

I’ve noticed that there are a few recurring themes in my life and after writing my goals down, it’s very evident: Running/Fitness, Personal Development, and Community.

Major goals (in no particular order):

  • Run Way Too Cool 50k Ultramarathon in March
  • Run the Terry Fox Tribute Run on April 12 (marathon distance)
  • Run a 50mi (2nd one!) or 100km (1st one!) ultramarathon by October 31
  • Reintroduce yoga into my program by practicing at least twice a month
  • Read a book a month
  • Meet my fundraising goal for the Union Gospel Mission of Dinner for More than 2000 by December 31
  • See my Dad at least twice a month

Minor goals:

  • Run 100km cumulatively during the Bagel Chase from February 2-8
  • Run the Ragnar Relay NW Passage in July
  • Be a Pace Beaver for the SeaWheeze in August
  • Run a marathon by December 31
  • Reintroduce snowshoeing into my program by going at least once a month until March 31
  • Try each of these sports at least once in 2013: skiing, skateskiing, cross country skiing, swimming
  • Find an ultramarathon to do in China/Hong Kong by 2015

So there they are. Two ultras, two marathons, yoga, books, community.. and a partridge in a pear tree. 🙂

2 thoughts on “And a Patridge in a Pear Tree

Leave a Reply

