My Cup Runneth Over

Our Tent, Our Guesthouse

Today is one of those days where I sit back and wonder what I did right to live the life that I have. It’s my 3rd year volunteering at the Glowbal Group’s Dinner for 2000 at the Union Gospel Mission. As I do, when I have something I want to share because it’s too awesome for just me, I share it and this was no exception. Over 30 people responded and shared their afternoon with me serving meals to the Downtown Eastside folks. For one afternoon, they were guests in our tent, at our table. A hot meal on a cold day. A warm smile on a frosty afternoon. In return, an afternoon of thank you’s from guests, friends, and volunteers that will touch and enrich my soul for many, many days. There were many stories and experiences shared today – each one unique to each interaction, and each one will effect our lives in different ways.

I am so thankful to be in the presence of such people who were willing to give up their afternoon to do this simple task with me. I am thankful to cross paths with you. I am thankful you are in my life. You continue to inspire me to do better, to spread good, and to love life. My cup runneth over.

Love these people!

Leave a Reply

