New York! I’m coming, if you’ll have me.

To be honest, I’ve been up and down for the last few days. My heart was not completely there. I know most people would say that I’m not respecting THE NEW YORK MARATHON but I do. I respect the distances of all the races I do. But I’ve run a lot this year and, frankly, I’m tired. I can admit it.

And then I was torn.

On one hand, I’ve been watching the news, the weather reports, the tweets, the facebook postings, and the list goes on and on and on. Hurricane Sandy. Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned and, damnit Sandy, what did New York do to you?

Then, on the other, with half a heart, I was preparing. I downloaded the Runner Handbook, studied the maps, did my last tempo run, did my intervals, creating my checklists, and mentally preparing myself for my 6th marathon.

And then today, it all melded together – reports from friends on cancelled and rescheduled flights, airports being closed, deferrals on race entries, cancellation of trips, short and ambiguous reports from the race organizers, a soft announcement by the Mayor that the race will go on. Amongst all this, I got trapped and, at one point – my low point – I considered a complete deferral. New York was making it so difficult to come and it shouldn’t be that difficult, should it? But it’s not her fault.

Tonight, I gained clarity. The race will probably go on. It has to. The city needs it. If not for morale, then for the economic impact that the City will need to aid disaster recovery.

If New York will have me, I’m coming.

I’m going to create a once-in-a-lifetime experience because no one will ever experience this year’s marathon ever again. The city will never look like this again. The people will never feel this way again. The marathon will never be this way again. I want to run this marathon and document every single piece of it in my head. And, my original plan for the rest of my trip of seeing certain sites and doing certain things has changed. I’m going to lend a hand where needed and document MY New York – through my eyes, through my ears, through my legs, and through my heart.

3 thoughts on “New York! I’m coming, if you’ll have me.

  1. Sorry that NYC didn’t quite work out as planned, but it’s super inspiring that you still wanted to go and help.

    In other news, I’ve been nominated for Liebster Award and wanted to pay it forward by nominating your blog for one too!

    The Rules:
    1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
    2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you. <—-on my blog http://www.solanaleigh.com/?p=1850
    3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
    4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post. Go to their page and tell them.
    5. No tag backs.

Leave a Reply

