Get your Pink on!

.. and I don’t mean rock out to music by Pink.  🙂

Today is Pink Shirt DayEvery seven seconds in Canada, a child is bullied. This alarming statistic fuels the passion behind CKNW’s 5th annual anti-bullying campaign Pink Shirt Day – Bullying Stops Here! On Wednesday, February 29th, 2012, CKNW is encouraging British Columbian’s to show their support by wearing pink to symbolize bullying will not be tolerated.

Today, I wore my pink shirt loud and proud.  I wore it to get my coffee at Starbucks, to every meeting I went to, as well as over my tech shirts at the lululemon athletica Robson Run Club that I lead.  It’s probably been about 8 years since I actually wore a cotton t-shirt running, but I was determined to show my support!

The photo I posted here was through my involvement with the Women in Leadership Foundation.  I love the work I do with WIL – I’m the Events Team Lead for the Vancouver Chapter (2nd year!) and this year, WIL has brought forward a theme of ‘inclusivity’ in their strategy and fundraising events, which means including other causes as well as other genders – men!

Because almost everyone in the Vancouver Chapter is new (all but 2!), we wanted to introduce ourselves to the world  to let more people learn about WIL and, although we are a non profit foundation, we support all social good.

So, I’m inviting you to get to know us, check us out, and have some fun with us.  We’re a pretty cool group, and we all love giving back to our communities.  🙂  Oh, and special thanks to our uber awesome photographer Nick Siu for donating his time to snap our photos!

One thought on “Get your Pink on!

Leave a Reply

