Inspiration

Inspiration is defined as stimulation or arousal of the mind, feelings, etc, to special or unusual activity or creativity. I define inspiration as the stimulus to do or be something beyond your norm. Today is one of those days.

A simple idea as to volunteering my time to serve a simple meal to the less fortunate and sharing that idea with others compelled over 20 people in my direct and indirect network to give 3 hours of themselves. Time is one of the most valuable assets in life and 20 people selflessly donated it.

The Glowbal Group partnered with the Union Gospel Mission for the 3rd year in a row for their annual ‘Table for 2000’ Christmas Dinner. Last year, I saw a tweet calling for volunteers for this amazing cause. My first thought was, “that’d be great but I don’t want to do it alone.” It sounds selfish but I needed company to give me courage. Silly, I know. My friend, Jimmy, volunteered with me and it was amazing. We did an evening shift and we were assigned to two different areas so as much as I felt I needed the company, I was fine alone. We saw each other occasionally but it was so busy, it was far and few between. To this day, I will always be grateful for that time we spent together.

I served a lot of dinners that night and to people who you would have never guessed needed it. But that’s just it, isn’t it? There were individuals who treated each other as family, sharing familiar glances and warm embraces. There were families, with children climbing over each other, oblivious to their surroundings. There were no barriers or prejudices – just a will to help and serve.

My biggest take away from that night a year ago was when my team leader from Glowbal said to treat these people as though they are guests in your house. Regardless of where they have come from and where they have been, this is their night to be a guest at my table, in my home. And I was honoured.

So, with this lesson, I shared and invited everyone and anyone to join me in this venture. This year, my simple callout resulted in 20 loving and caring people to open their arms and hearts to our guests in our house. I have always felt fortunate for the people by whom I have been blessed to be surrounded but today, my heart runneth over. Every one of you who chose to donate your time to touch another person’s life has inspired me to do better, not just today but every day going forward. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

