Chuckanut, baby!

so it’s less than 12 hours til I toe the line at Chuckanut. All things – check. It’s strange to put it all in perspective .. having trained for 2 marathons in the last 3 years and not making it to either because of injury .. taking a year off to make sure i was healed .. and now, finally, making it to the start line. It’s not a marathon, but an ultramarathon. Somehow, it’s not better. I’m still chasing that marathon. The ultramarathon, however, is a great goal and I love that I’m here and, to me, it symbolizes the end of an era – to some extent. The end of letting injury sideline me from getting THERE. There, being the start line. There, being reaching that goal. There, being confident that injury won’t stand in my way.

I count my blessings every day that I can run. Those days of watching people run pass me are still too fresh.  I know I’m far more fortunate than many. And, tomorrow, I will cross that finish line. I will reach that goal. I will shatter that goal. And then I can take that first step to a journey to a healthier, happier, faster me – a me that will no longer chase a marathon, but catch that marathon.  damnit.

Leave a Reply

