New Year’s Resolutions

I keep seeing people’s Facebook statuses in the last week saying stuff along the lines of how great 2008 will be but it makes me wonder why? Is it great that they’re so optimistic that 2008 will be a great year for them? Was 2007 awful for them? Are they setting themselves up for disappointment?

I’ve set some .. resolutions. Actually, I guess it’s only one resolution and a few goals:

I resolve to stay home at least twice a week. This is so that I can invest more time to myself. I had an extremely wonderful 2007 – I accomplished alot of things, met someone with whom I am in love, travelled to more places I haven’t been to, challenged myself physically and emotionally. At the same time, there were some things I had hoped to do in 2007 that I didn’t have time to do. I kept myself so busy with so many things that the year escaped me. I don’t think I chose to do and not do certain things based on priority, but rather urgency. This, to me, is rather disappointing. Hence, I resolve to stay home two nights a week – in this regard, I’ll be able to devote some time to myself .. to learn Spanish, to study, to read, to make my house a home. I don’t want my house to be like a hotel .. a place where I keep my stuff and a place to put my head down. I want it to be my sanctuary. So I suppose you could say my resolution is to devote more time to myself and the first step is attempting to stay in two nights a week.

And so a few of my goals …

– time goal for the Gold Coast Marathon. But seeing as how marathons are a challenge in itself, if I don’t meet my specified time goal, I won’t be too disappointed. I would, however, like to beat my Boston time .. and even moreso, my Sacramento time.
– learn Spanish!
– pick up Swimming lessons again
– do an adventure race

That’s about it .. so I don’t know if I want to shout from the rooftops and say how excited I am for 2008 but I’m pretty good at meeting my goals so if I accomplish the things on my list, then I’ll be pretty happy.

Leave a Reply

