reflections….

I don’t know what it is about this time of year that makes me happy… in a very calm and serene way. Perhaps it’s because it’s the end of the year and I use this time to reflect upon my life – not in the “where do i belong in the universe” way – but, rather, a time to reflect on who i am, what i’m doing, what i’ve done, and most importantly, am i happy with where i’m at.

(it could also be the fact that i was cooped up in my apartment all day yesterday cuz of the snow and i’ve gone delirious ….. hah)

This has been a big year for me, in all aspects of my life, and it’s not because I’ve reached that “pivotal age of 30” – but I certainly have come into my own this year. It’s as though I’ve finally been able to be myself, completely and wholly, and I really love it.

Yesterday, I was going through my stack of photos accumulated over the past decade or so and it brought back so many memories. I don’t think people realize how much is forgotten … flipping through those photos, you can almost put yourself back into that same scenario and relive it again – all senses are heightened; you feel the same emotions as when it happened, laugh about it again, put yourself in that spot again. It’s your time portal back into the highlights of your life. It’s such an amazing feeling. I honestly don’t think we do that enough. Of course, you don’t want to live in the past, but why not take some time to relive some of the moments that were worth capturing? It’s all part of you.

It’s all part of that amazing human being that is you.

Leave a Reply

